Reckless driving cases are taken very seriously in Virginia as harsh and tough charges are imposed on the client if he is caught and proved to be guilty in court. Under the section of 46.2-852 in Virginia reckless driving is a very serious issue and comes under the class 1 crime which is the most offensive to the laws. Several acts are considered as reckless driving but general it is defined as an act which is the cause of such carelessness which may lead to endangerment or loss of lives of others or cause any physical damage to the property of others. The road officer is the judge at the road who will decide if the driving is reckless or secure. Some of the common acts which come under this category of crime are sudden change of lanes without indicating or informing other on the road, then overtaking at wrong spots, carrying out any other activity while driving such as eating, talking on mobile or shaving. The most frequent and the common ones are the over speeding which clearly states that if a person is driving 20 miles per hour over the speed limit then in that case he will be fined and will also have to spend time in prison depending upon the intensity of recklessness in driving.
If you have been charged with such a crime, in that case you should make sure that you give your full attention to the matter and don’t take it too lightly because it is a very serious case and needs to be handled as soon as possible with utmost seriousness. It doesn’t matter if it’s your first time committing the crime you will still be treated the same as other and will have to face the same charges of paying a fine, spending sentence in prison, suspension of you license for a limited amount of time and dealing with increased insurance expenses and etc.
The charges you will have to pay and the consequences you will have to pay will solely depend upon the seriousness and the intensity of your crime and later are judge by the local court. It is not compulsory that for over speeding you will definitely have to spend a year in prison. In some of the regions driving at a speed of 90 miles per hour is also not punished by jail sentence and 95 miles per hour is the limit when crossed will cause an imprisonment. After the imprisonment comes the second charge which is of the suspension of your license which can lead to may more issues as travelling in united states is one of the basic needs and without the liberty to be able to drive it’s hard to carry out daily life activities. Usually in cases to higher speeds of around 95 miles per hour the suspension of your license occurs and it is almost similar to the jail sentence as to be prohibited from driving for a period of time. If the court issues you a restricted license then using that you only have the liberty to carry out only the compulsory travelling such as working or going to school and other. Now coming on the matter of paying the fine is that the maximum amount is 2500 dollars but usually the average prices varies from 300 to 1000 dollars moreover the due date of the fine can be extended if allowed by the court plus you also have to deal with the court charges which is 80 dollars.