Defining Theft in the context of Virginia Law
Virginia law basically alludes to all theft and theft-related violations as “larceny,” and gives no broad meaning of the term. It’s sheltered to state that theft in Virginia can be characterized as the unlawful taking of property that has a place with another person, finished with the plan to for all time deny the proprietor of the property. Furthermore, Virginia criminal statutes do characterize some unmistakable theft-related offenses, including:
- (§ 18.2-97.) Larceny of certain animals
- (§ 18.2-98.) Larceny of bank checks and notes
- (§ 18.2-102.) Unauthorized use of an animal, aircraft, or vehicle
- (§ 18.2-103.) Taking possession of merchandise or concealing with intent (shoplifting)
- (§ 18.2-107.) Destruction or theft of public records
- (§ 18.2-108.) Receiving stolen goods
- (§ 18.2-111.) Embezzlement
Classifying Theft Offenses and Penalties in VA
Virginia classifies larceny offenses as indicated by the estimation of the property included – or, in a few conditions, by the kind of property taken. This classification resembles those of most other states. How about we begin by investigating each level of theft or larceny under Virginia law thus, starting with petit larceny (or petty theft), which is the most reduced level of theft under Virginia law.
Petit Larceny. Defined as the theft of property or services esteemed at under $200, or the theft of property prized at under $5 when taken straightforwardly from the individual of another.
Petit theft is classified as a class 1 misdemeanor under Virginia law (Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-96.), deserving of confinement in prison for not over a year, a fine of not more than $2,500, or both. (§ 18.2-11(a).)
Grand Larceny. Grand larceny in Virginia happens when a man confers larceny and:
- property value is over $200
- property is valued at $5 or more and is taken from the person of another, or
- property was stolen is a firearm. (§ 18.2-95.)
VA Civil Penalties for Theft
Notwithstanding criminal punishments, a man who carries out shoplifting in Virginia might be civilly subject to the store proprietor for:
- Two times the retail value of the merchandise, or $50, whichever is greater (but if the store owner recovers the merchandise in a sellable condition, the penalty will be no more than $350 total), and
- The store owner’s reasonable court costs and attorney fees of no more than $150. ( § 8.01-44.4(A).)
Petit larceny for the first time with no criminal records VA
In any case, you require a prompt meeting with a lawyer. The felony procedure has a system attached to it. And through the process, you will have a superior idea of where you, legal or sentence-wise, stand. An important issue to recollect – you are not required to demonstrate your innocence.
On the off chance that you have no earlier record, at that point it is conceivable to have the charge consulted to wrongdoing, however, the high cost of things makes that dangerous. The most extreme sentence for grand larceny is 20 years in jail. Your condemning rules on grand larceny with no record are doubtlessly probation. In any case, you require a decent criminal defense lawyer who can help arrange this case for you.
Petit Larceny for the First Time with no Criminal Records VA – call us at 888-437-7747.